Fredericksburg TX 78624 830-997-3740

Home of All Gillespie County Republicans

“You will never know how much it has cost the present generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you will make a good use of it.”

John Adams


Republican Party of Texas (RPT)

“Throughout early 1867 the Union Loyal League, comprised mainly of newly enfranchised blacks and a small number of white Unionists, held mass meetings across the state….The first of these meetings was held in Austin on April 27, 1867 and called for a convention in Houston….

“On July 4, 1867 these activists met in Houston for the first Republican state convention….

“Closely associated with the Union and the abolition of slavery, the party’s initial membership was predominantly African-American but with a mainly white leadership consisting of a large portion of German-Americans and those who had been opposed to secession and Texas’ membership in the Confederacy….”  ~ by Wayne Thorborn

Today, the Republican Party of Texas is governed by the State Republican Executive Committee (SREC).  It is composed of the Chairman, James Dickey, the Vice Chairman, Alma Jackson, and a committeeman and committeewoman from each of the 31 State Senate Districts.  Gillespie County is in Senate District 24 and is represented by Jack Barcroft, Committeeman and Summer Wise, Committeewoman.


Texas has 180 public “symbols of the Confederacy” according to the Southern Poverty Law Center.  This includes monuments, school names, road names, and county names.  From 1874 to 1979 every governor in Texas was a Democrat.  Of the more than 100 “symbols of the Confederacy” that were dedicated, all but six were dedicated during a Democrat administration.  Could this be the real reason for removing these symbols?